State Champion Competition

Sponsor the Competition

Watch Live


Ryan Adams
2020 State Champion

Ryan works as a full time auctioneer at Adams Auction and Real Estate, a first generation auction company that he and his brother Seth Adams founded in 2006 at the ages of 18 and 20 years old.  Together they run hundreds of auctions yearly ranging from Real Estate, Farm, Livestock, Produce, Estates, and Hay.  Ryan graduated from World Wide College of Auctioneering in 2006.  Since then he has went onto incorporate real estate into the auction business.  Ryan holds his real estate broker license in both Wisconsin and Iowa, Adams Auction and Real Estate not only sells real estate at auction but lists and sells real estate on a daily basis. 

Auctioneering has always been in Ryan’s blood.  Some of his favorite childhood memories were attending cattle auctions with his dad and brother, watching the auctioneer work never got old.  Ryan also donates many hours throughout the year doing benefit auctions for multiple causes throughout the community.  When not working hard for his client’s, Ryan enjoys spending time with his wife Megan and their two children, Cash-3 and Evelyn-1, he also enjoys raising Red Angus cattle, riding horse, hunting, and fishing.  He enjoys chatting auctions with new and old clients, customers, and friends.  He states the coffee is always hot and the doors always open. 

In 1999, the contest was changed to the “Wisconsin State Auctioneer Champion” contest. Unlike the first nine years, the contest now includes interviews with the finalists.

Wisconsin Auctioneers Association

What to Expect

Entry Form & Fees

Preliminary Competition

Final Competition

Prizes and Recognitions

Winner Duties & Responsibilities

Previous Champions

2019 – Jenny Gehl; North Prairie, WI
2018 – Kathy Packard, Antigo, WI
2017 – David Allen, Cross Plains, WI
2016 – Jim Gavin, Reedsburg, WI
2015 – Steve Strey, Osseo, WI
2014 – Dave Koning, Monroe, WI
2013 – Bryan Mergen, Wausau, WI
2012 – Carol Wagenson, New Lisbon, WI
2011 – Tim Miller, Merton, WI
2010 – Carol Miller, Oconomowoc, WI
2009 – Scott Welein, Mondovi, WI
2008 – Wayne Yoder, Wautoma, WI
2007 – Rod Johnson, Cannon Falls, MN
2006 – O.D. Holley, Rock City, IL
2005 – Randy Gill, Hullsburg, WI
2004 – Timothy A Slack, Lancaster, WI
2003 – Carl Theorin, Wausau, WI
2002 – Craig Otto
2001 – Randy Filer, CAI, Helenville, WI
2000 – Mike Espe, Elburn, IL

State Championship Contest History

The forerunner to this contest was the “State Fair Bid-Calling Contest,” started in 1991 by the “singing auctioneer” Le Roy Van Dyke and the late Roy D. Holler, a past president of the Wisconsin Auctioneers Association. During the first nine years, contestants were judged only on their bid calling.

In 1999, the contest was changed to the “Wisconsin State Auctioneer Champion” contest, a preliminary competition to the International Auctioneer Championship conducted at the National Auctioneers Association Conference and Show. Unlike the first nine years, the contest now includes interviews with the finalists.

Past Senior and State Fair Champions

Senior Champion Auctioneers

2005 – Ray Gevelinger
2006 – Jack Hines, AARE
2007 – Johnny O. Johnson
2008 – David Gerlach, ASA
2009 – Harry Betthauser
2010 – Joe Bunczak
2011 – Lyle Wanless
2012 – Allen VanDyke
2013 – John Spies

State Fair Champion Bid Callers

1999 – Bruce Bieri, CAI, AARE
1998 – Timothy Slack, CAI
1997 – Randy Gill
1996 – Larry Teasdale
1995 – Carl Theorin
1994 – Eli Detweiler, CAI
1993 – Mark Mueller
1992 – Kris Majeski
1991 – John Marg

International Champion Auctioneers


2000 – Mike Espe
2005 – Eli Detweiler, CAI, First Runner-Up


1994 – *Pat Massart, CAI First Runner-Up

WAA Champions in the News

You Know You’re From…Aniwa

By Dale Ryman ANIWA, Wis. (WSAW) - “Hit ‘em again now. 20 dollar make you holler,” the auctioneer belts over the PA. “The first auction I did I didn’t sleep all night. Really nerve racking,” said Duke Packard. “You never get bored,” Kathy Packard said. “I love what I...

Pin It on Pinterest